How to Create your First Association


This very simple tutorial will show you how to create your first association with DropIt. Once started DropIt, it will be visible as a target image on your screen. It is the main interface:

  • you can drag&drop files on it to process them
  • you can hold left-click it to move the target image
  • you can right-click it to show the main menu

To manage your associations you need to right-click the target image and click “Associations”. It will show the following window.

Now you can click “New” button or double-click the empty table to create a new association. The opened window allows to create and edit associations. These are the main fields available:

  1. the association name to recognize it in your collection of associations (e.g. “Example”)
  2. the rules to define what files will be processed with this association (e.g. “*.txt”)
  3. the action that will be used on your files (e.g. “Copy”)
  4. the destination related to the selected action (e.g. “C:\Example of folder”)

You can find some examples of rules clicking the info button on the right of that field (files can be filtered by name, extension, path). While from the next button you can also configure additional filters based on file size, creation date, modification date, last access date.

The destination field instead is different for each action, but it is essentially a configuration of the action itself. For example some actions allow to define a “Destination Folder” where position files processed with that association.

Completed the association creation, you can “Save” it and drag&drop files on the target image to process them. Files will be filtered and processed with the matching associations.

48 thoughts on “How to Create your First Association

  1. Pingback: How to Sort Files into Folders | DropIt Blog

  2. Pingback: How to Organize Lots of Files | DropIt Blog

  3. Is there a way to import association and if so is there a standard set available, eg. *.mov,*.mkv, *.m4v etc.. goes to C:\..\My Videos

    • You can import a group of associations from Customize Profiles window (right click the list of profiles and select “Import”). Source files must be correctly formatted CSV, XLS or XLSX. In this way you can create lists of associations in Excel and then import them in Dropit. You can find an example of these files in “DropIt\Lib” directory.
      While exist only 3 predefined sets of associations, from the right click menu of Customize Profiles: “Archiver”, “Eraser” and “Extractor”.

      • Thank you for your reply, but it did not fix the problem. Starting with a fresh install, I created an association to rename a file (see below). The profile was then exported in both CSV and Excel formats. Immediately I tried to import these freshly exported files and they failed to import.

        The following errors were received:
        CSV Format: Line 5989 (C://….dropit.exe) Error: Array variable has incorrect number of subscripts or subscript dimension range exceeded.
        Excel Format: Profile not imported. The source file might be not correctly structured. (Also, the Excel file would not open in Excel 2007).

        Here is the output of the CSV export that failed to import:
        NAME, STATE, RULES, ACTION, DESTINATION, FILTERS, LIST PROPERTIES, HTML THEME, SITE SETTINGS, CRYPT SETTINGS
        “Mulla”, “Enabled”, “*mulla*.*”, “Rename”, “Mulla, Adil.%FileExt%”, “”, “”, “”, “”, “”

        I really love this software and use it for work. It saves me days worth of tedious sorting and reduces lots of human error.

      • Thanks for the report, it is an issue. Try with this test and let me know if it works: replace “Mulla, Adil.%FileExt%” with “Mulla Adil.%FileExt%” (so removing , character).

  4. Is there a way to chain actions. What i would like to do is to copy the file into 2 different folders, and delete it after the successful copy.

  5. Where are associations saved? My CPU crashed. I have saved the hard drive and bought a new computer. I would like to transfer my associations from the old hard drive to the new computer hard drive.

    So… Where is the associations file to copy and paste?

    • They are stored in “Profiles” folder. If you use the portable version, this folder is saved in DropIt main directory. If instead you use the installed version, this folder is saved in application data folder (together with settings of the other applications).

  6. If there’s a way I’d like to see an association compiler to easily make a rule. I’ve seen a thing like this where you edit music tags and it had it all used options in a menu and you click to put an order to it and it was like copy paste. I think it’d be useful; in my scenario I have fonts to be extracted, and monitored, then moved to a folder to hold only the the font file. While it’d be okay to put the idea in the software I’d think it’ll be almost unnecessary; the idea could be in a form of a webpage, I think you’d only use ‘association rule making’ rarely if the need to organize and keep organized is there and you sit and write a bunch of associations to keep. Then you venture into a different medium with new file extensions and you’ll get overcompensated with the open possibilities and now have a jigsaw puzzle in your monitored folders – easily make new rules without extensive hindering of uncommon or unknown file extensions: go venture through internet or create now. I got more; (it could be dull and/or useless): an option actions to correspond and function with running programs [useless, I think it’ll need resource from the other side or you do that playlist thing and just refresh your program, never mind], an option to rename files based on filters [useful, if when you have a time when photos download from your cloud and it’s all generic file names or same photos different dimensions can be renamed with presets], a folder monitor refresh rate by monitoring folder size and/or amount of files in folder, and I also like to rip music, where I want to rip then place music files in one folder, vinyl art in another, along with a collection location text file all organized into the album folder according to the associated artist. What if i stored them all archived (good idea or bad idea?) and whenever I rip my music I add to the archive with DropIt…?

    • About the association compiler, I think you mean something like a installer wizard. I don’t know how it could be organized, because DropIt is very flexible with association creation and I think the association editor is simple enough to manage them. Anyway, if you have something of specific in mind, you can propose it here: http://sourceforge.net/p/dropit/feature-requests/

      About the other requests:
      – I’ll consider filter improvements in future (in upcoming version 4.7 you have new filters based on file properties and file text content!);
      – I’ll consider to add options like “scan monitored folders if bigger than …” and “scan monitored folders if include more than … files” in future;
      – I’m already considering to add a “Tag Music” action in future, while to rip music you need another program (but you could consider to connect it using a Open With action and send files to process them with it); instead it is already possible to sort music by tags, like described in this tutorial.

  7. How can I move a folder including all its files that contains one type of file i.e. Folder “Camp 2013” contains *.avi ?

    • A possible solution is to create an association like this:
      Rules: *.avi
      Action: Move
      Destination: C:\ExampleFolder\%ParentDirName%

      • Tried the solution but Dropit only wants to move the files as specified in the associations but it won’t move a folder in whole. (including all associated files)

    • The solution I wrote moves all AVI files and recreates the folder where files were previously stored. If you want to recreate the entire structure of subfolders, you can use %SubDir%.

      In next release 5.1 I’m considering to add support to filter folders by their content, in this way you could define to “move a folder if contains avi files”.

      • I would love to see that feature that way I can sort calibre library file structures where the usually are /author/series/Book/ lit epub mobi ect. where I would like to keep its Structure

  8. Not sure if I can… or at least haven’t got it to work
    Im trying to make rules to search contents of folders named for which ever show searched for to extract vid and possibly sub files from them to move to a Folder just for that shows vid and sub files

    “Video name [folder]” <–ex. tv show where most of the epsisodes come like
    Video name .VidFormat <– want
    Read Me .txt
    Video name Sample .VidFormat
    Video name .Subformat <– want

    I want to take all or /\ and end up with something along the lines of

    Show name [folder]
    ep1
    ep2
    ect.

    OR

    Parent Dir
    Vid.VidFormat
    Vid.Subformat
    Vid2.VidFormat
    Vid3.VidFormat
    Vid3.Subformat
    ect.

    So far I have been experimenting to see how the rules work.But Its not working right and Im not sure if it is currently possible to search for folder by name then contents of aforementioned folder by name or type in a rule

    Ideally I would like to make it to move the files then delete the folder with remaining content in one smooth motion like an option for second rule (followup rule) or Grouped rules. Like creating certain actions or rules executed in order as a group or sub group but I don't think those options are available or can be done.

    I was trying to create a multistep approach to do all that but im not sure what the order of execution of the rules and the commands written in them execute them selfs.

    I was planing to search for folder for folders with show's name grab Video files and Subs if necessary move to appropriate place then I use another rule to search for same file that are devoid of such wanted files or with only unwanted files and delete said folders.

  9. what Rule would I use if I wanted to search for files with “a” AND “b” in the file name. in the example you provide in the program if I use “|” or “;” it searches as “a” OR “b” and returns too many results. Please help I like this program a lot!

    • You could try using *a*b*;*b*a* as rule (note that the second part *b*a* is needed only if you want to consider also files with b before a).

  10. Hi there – thank you for a great app!

    I think I have discovered a bug, unless I am much mistaken… I am using the 32 bit version in W7

    I am trying to filter out any file which is older than 5 years, but whenever I run it (using the * rule) it tells me “No association found for x”. If I reduce the filter to a few days, it works perfectly…

    Please advise!

    • If you define a association to process only files older than 5 years, DropIt will asks you to define a association for files newer than 5 years (because they are ignored by the previous association). So, if you want to process only that files and ignore the others, you need to define a “Ignore” association or enable the option to ignore unassociated items.

      • Oooooooohhhhhh! Of course! I knew it’d be me who had it wrong! Thank you so much πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  11. Hi, just a few days ago, I’ve downloaded your program thinking it was something else; anyway I was instantly charmed and intrigued by the cute square being a “hard-working tiny tool”. Usually it’s me being the hard-working tiny tool, so it’s nice for a change.
    I tried a few things and DropIt sorted everything, except:
    -files beginning with h- I used ^h- (like I use in FileLocator for “begins with”)
    -when the file should be moved, but it ‘fits’ 2 or more conditions (ambiguity), I couldn’t tell it to file it in both locations (copy to all locations and then move the final)
    -Is there a way to create your own presets within a profile?
    -I got confused a few times in the rightclick menu (it was not that intuitive for me … association … profile … export … but maybe it’s just me)
    A big THANK YOU for DropIt: it’s a GREAT IDEA! and it’s very cute too. I’ve adopted it and given it a cosy place on my desktop. For 2014 I wish you all the best! Keep up the good work!

    • Here some notes about your doubts:
      – rules do not need ^ character at the beginning (you can see some examples from the Rule Examples button)
      – if a file matches with more associations, the Select Action window allows to choose which one use, you cannot move it in both locations (maybe I’ll add it in a future release)
      – what do you mean with “own presets”? you could for example create a general profile and then duplicate it, or you could use Import/Export feature from profiles window to export a profile in Excel format to edit it and import the modified one, but I don’t know if it is what you mean
      – I recommend you to read the pdf guide to understand the software structure (it is few pages)

  12. I wish to create a text file containing full path with file name of files that were drag-dropped. If text file containing the list exists, then I want it appended by newly drag-dropped files’ full path names. That way I can navigate to different folders, select files and drag-drop and get one list, even though I may have drag-dropped different files at different times. Is it possible?

    • Currently it is possible to use an association like this:
      Name = List files
      Rules = *
      Action = Create list
      Destination = C:\Example\List.txt
      And configure the action with a single list content with %LinkAbsolute% as value.

      It will create a TXT list of dropped files. Instead, I added the request to update the list with next drops to my list of planned features (at the moment it is not possible).

  13. I’m a newbie to Dropit and I’m trying to used it to backup some old folders at work. What I want to do is back up/compress all folders that begin with a digit e.g. “45123 Folder name” Can it be done? If So, what would the rule be? I’ve spent two days trying to figure this out and no luck!!!! Thanks for the help!

      • Thanks Lupo73, but that would only work if the folder begins with “45123,” correct? I’m looking for a expression that I can tell it to pick-up only the folders that start with numbers / digits as oppose to folders name that begin with letters. Is that possible?

  14. Thanks for a great program!
    But I was wondering if it’s possible for Dropit to copy/move pictures do different folders by tags? It’s not Facebook tags I mean btw πŸ™‚ I’m using Windows. I know you can do it by using comments, but it would really help me if there was a way to do it by using tags

    • Yes, as you can see from the link, abbreviations include file properties and other info of processed files and folders.

  15. I want to creat three video associations at the same time.
    1. Facebook association that moves all those video files that contain “facebook” string. I want to move all those files to my folder name Facebook
    2. Excel association that moves all those video files that contain “Excel” string. I want to move all those files to my folder name Excel
    3. All other video files that don’t contain “Facebook” and “Excel” strings. I want to move those videos to my folder name called Other videos.

    Kindly leave an urgent reply

Leave a Reply

