This is a simple tutorial that explain how to delete old files with DropIt. You can use one of the 3 supported methods to delete files:
- Directly Remove: files are not available in the Recycled Bin, but data are not overwritten and could be restored using a recovery tool
- Safely Erase: files are removed and data overwritten, to make them unrecoverable also by recovery tools
- Send to Recycle Bin: files are sent to recycle bin and are still available from there
DropIt includes a specific “Delete” action to remove files and folders from your system. You can create several associations with different configurations, to automatize the deletion process for each file type.
For example you can create the following association, that safely erase only documents stored in “MyDocs” folder:
Then you can click the “Additional Filters” button (next to Rules input field) and limit the deletion to files older than 30 days:
Obviously you can choose to add other filters, for example limiting the deletion to files smaller than 100 KB.