How to Delete Old Files


This is a simple tutorial that explain how to delete old files with DropIt. You can use one of the 3 supported methods to delete files:

  1. Directly Remove: files are not available in the Recycled Bin, but data are not overwritten and could be restored using a recovery tool
  2. Safely Erase: files are removed and data overwritten, to make them unrecoverable also by recovery tools
  3. Send to Recycle Bin: files are sent to recycle bin and are still available from there

DropIt includes a specific “Delete” action to remove files and folders from your system. You can create several associations with different configurations, to automatize the deletion process for each file type.

For example you can create the following association, that safely erase only documents stored in “MyDocs” folder:

Then you can click the “Additional Filters” button (next to Rules input field) and limit the deletion to files older than 30 days:

Obviously you can choose to add other filters, for example limiting the deletion to files smaller than 100 KB.

 

20 thoughts on “How to Delete Old Files

  1. Pingback: How to Back Up Files | DropIt Blog

  2. Hi, can you help with the following problem – I want to unzip a zip file then delete it. I have tried setting rules :
    1 Monitor a folder every 60 seconds
    2 decompress zip and rar files3 that have been modified less than 1 minute
    3 delete folders that have been modified over 1 minute

    The problem is that I get a pop up giving a choice between steps 2 and 3, which defeats the automation.

    • Can you describe the associations you are using? Because they may correctly work if one is for files and another for folders.

      • Hi
        Sorry, 3 should have said delete items that have been modified over 1 minute. I take it that there is no way to apply more than one rule to a file type, even with time delays?

  3. Hello .. I used dropit successfully for two different jobs. The first was for automatic compression and the second for automatic deletion. I used the portable version. I have a question:
    Q: When I create the .ini can I use it with the command line?

    i try this one:
    “C:\AutoCompressTool\DropIt.exe” -default /delete “C:\Backup\Export\*.txt” /close
    and play, but i want with only to customize the default.ini profile.
    Can i run, a command like this: “C:\AutoCompressTool\DropIt.exe” -default /delete /close ??

    • You do not need to send /delete and /close commands to use it. If you have a profile with a Delete action (you could consider to create a new profile only for this purpose, you can find few examples from right-click context menu in “Customize Profiles” window), you only need to send desired files to DropIt with that profile. Following your example, you only need this command line:
      “C:\AutoCompressTool\DropIt.exe” -default “C:\Backup\Export\*.txt”

      • Thank you very much, for the fastly support.
        That’s exactly what I did, making a profile for each different action. My only problem, is that every action, i wanted to running by scheduler, and this is not playing like i have design.

    • If I correctly understood, you would like to load some files, compress them and remove original files after compression. If it is correct, currently it is not possible, but I planned to add it in one of the next releases.

  4. Thank you for making such a great program. I have one specific folder that I have made a few rules for. Some for moving files, and some for deleting files, with an extra rule for ignoring two subfolders. After these rules have run I am left with a number of empty subfolders. Can Dropit delete empty sub-folders?

      • I finally figured out.

        I can’t just use * or ** it must be C:\folderpath\*;C\folderpath\**

        Explanation:
        C:\folderpath\* = to delete all files within the specified folder or C:\folderpath\** for all folders within this folder.

        In my case I am using the rules C:\folderpath\*;C\folderpath\** for all files and folder + additional filters: created date > 6 days

        Also under options, main menu.I choose to “process the folders and not scan them” instead of each file because I have tens of thousands of videos files uploaded from surveillance cameras (otherwise scanning file by file just take way to long, even with my ssds drives ).

        under Options/Monitoring I checked marked “Enable scan of monitored folders and chose how many seconds I want to wait in between scans.

        Also liked to show progress so I checked that as well
        and lastly add the C:\folderpath on monitored folder with the appropriated Associated Profile, the same one that I have created with the rules above. ( Personally I prefer to create a whole new profile just for this specific rules/folders)

        hope this helps anyone in need.

  5. Quick question please – how will you create a simple cleanup rule? Basically I want all the pdf files within folder X that have ‘trash’ in name to be moved to a Trash folder and then delete after 1 day. I was able to create 2 profiles and add a monitored folder to each profile – can it be done in an easier mode?
    Thank you!
    AV

  6. Hello, please Help!

    My goal is to delete all files and folders within a specific folder if older than x days. even tough I have specified on the association rules “D:\**\folder\**;D:\*\folder\*; still wont process the files and folders within specified folder. keeps popping up message saying:

    “association needed
    No association found for:
    D:\specified\folder\filename.extension
    do you want to create an association for it ? ”

    Here are some screenshots of my settings and the message, hope that anyone can help.
    http://prnt.sc/eqgvvk
    http://prnt.sc/eqgthq
    http://prnt.sc/eqgw2u
    http://prnt.sc/eqgtt6

    thank you very much in advance.

Leave a Reply

